1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

2 tomato questions

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by Rosiemongrel, Jul 1, 2008.

1. Rosiemongrel

Rosiemongrel Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    OK, this is my first year of growing veg. I have 8 tomato plants in total. 6 in grow bags (with pots sitting in the grow bag), and 2 in the veg patch. The grow bag ones are doing OK, and being supported by 6 foot bamboo caned. These ones are just beginning to flower.

The ones in the veg patch confuse me. They don't have a central stem, they have about 3 strong stems each, on which there are flowers. Can a tomato plant have that kind of shape (it's more like a bush than like a central stem with branches going off it)? They are a lot less tall than the ones in the grow bags and do not require any growing support yet. The variety is moneymaker, I think. Should I have cut two of the stems off earlier? They all seem about as large as each other, so I didn't know which ones to chop off. Now that all the stems have flowers on them, should I leave them on?