1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Absolute newcomer seeking advice please :)

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by DanDrage, Mar 6, 2014.

1. DanDrage

DanDrage Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All,

As the title suggests I'm an absolute beginner when it comes to gardening but we have recently bought a house with lovely front and rear gardens and I'm determined to at least try to keep them that way!

With that in mind, our neighbours have had a fence installed along the front boundary which involved removing some established conifers but left a large tree because the trunk is on the boundary line and I said that I'd rather keep it. The result of this is that its down to me to maintain it and I have no idea where to start!

This is what we have at the moment ....

20140222_092518small.jpg

I'd like to shape the tree so that its fatter at the bottom and tapers to more of a point at the top (just to make it look nicer) and I have the idea to 'fill in the gap' between the body of the tree and the end fence post on my side with something to make it look nicer. (I told you I was an absolute beginner so apologies for the vagueness!).