1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Advice On Preparing Ground Grass Seed

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by PJ21, Sep 24, 2017.

1. PJ21

PJ21 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Hi,

I've just finished removing paving slabs and decking from our back garden and we're now planning on putting down some grass seed.

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to doing this though so could do with some advice on the best way to tackle it as I want to make sure I get it right.

The ground underneath is very compact and there's a layer of small stones across most of it after removing all the slabs and cement. I had planned on leveling it all out, then covering it with top soil before seeding but I'm not sure if this is the best option?

Any advice on the best way to tackle it would be greatly appreciated.

20170917_162426.jpg 20170924_105221.jpg 20170924_105212.jpg

2. Phil A

Phil A Guest

Ratings:
    +0
    Welcome to Gardeners Corner :sign0016:

I'd loosen it with a fork to ensure good drainage, and i'd use spent mushroom compost rather than topsoil, all you're likely to get come up with that is the odd mushroom.

Advised one of our customers to get some to bring a bed up a while back, but they ordered 2 ton of topsoil instead, it was full of bindweed roots and glod knows what else :doh:

3. PJ21

PJ21 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks!