1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Any advice on what to do with this lawn?

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by Richard Moffett, Apr 6, 2018.

1. Richard Moffett

Richard Moffett Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +3
    Hi all, newbie here, just said hello in the introductions thread.

I have just moved into a new home and for the first time, and much to my two young children's joy, I have a garden!! Now when I say I have a garden what I mean is I have is 80 foot of lawn. And when I say lawn what I mean is 80 foot of half bare, patchy, rugged lawn on VERY lumpy, bumpy ground. I have attached a photo of the lawn and I need some advice on where to begin with it.

As I say this is my first lawn to take care of and it has not been well looked after by the previous tenants. It is not obvious in the photo but the whole garden is on a slope and the ground is very lumpy and bumpy all over. Now I do not have the funds or time to take it up and level it so I am looking at what I CAN do to make it as good as possible for this summer. So to make it easier the questions are:

1. Mowing. I really need an idea on what kind of mower would be best for such uneven lumpy ground? Petrol, electric, battery?