Beech hedge brutally singed by builders fire!

Discussion in 'Trees' started by Callanderkath, Mar 22, 2017.

1. Callanderkath

Callanderkath Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Dear Gardeners, I'm new to gardening and new to here. so appologies if this is in the wrong place?!
    I had some building work done over the summer, and the builders were burning rubbish in the garden in a brazier, however I came home one afternoon to find the fire brigade in my garden putting out an out of control fire caused by builders not paying close attention to the fire. It had caught a pile of garden rubbish. As a result a section of an old established Beech hedge has been badly singed, the main trunks look fine but all the green leaves were burnt and now, late March most of the twiggy bits that provide the screening look dead and have orange spots (i suspect fungus on dead wood) Has anyone experienced a burnt Beech hedge recovery?? Does anyone think it might come back to life over the next couple of years?? The damage happened in late June and now I do not see much in the way of buds.
    I am very worried as the garden is enclosed by beech hedging and I may be new to gardening, but I know it will be a big expensive job to replant a section of hedge.
    Many thanks for any helpful advice. DSCI0037.JPG DSCI1477.JPG
    The first picture shows the aftermath, bear in mind the hedge was in full green leaved hedgeness prior to the fire. The second picture is of the branches today. Hope they help?
    Callanderkath

2. Phil A

Phil A Guest

Ratings:
    +0
    Welcome to Gardeners Corner :sign0016:

It's not looking hopeful is it :sad:

Give your house insurance a call and they should be able to make a claim against the builder's insurance :fingers crossed:

• Like Like x 1
    • JWK

JWK Gardener Staff Member

Ratings:
      +45,628