1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Clematis and climbing

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by toppington, Mar 26, 2016.

1. toppington

toppington Tiny garden, always on the cheap!

Ratings:
    +1,179
    Afternoon all, I've managed to pick up some very cheap Clematis from ASDA this morning and would like to plant it out in the garden soon. I am a total newbie but hopefully will be able to do the planting bit ok!

My question revolves more around climbing! I don't have the money to purchase a trellis at the moment, I was thinking of using some bamboo cane and twine and making a cheapo version myself... However, will the clematis need the support right from the day it's in the ground, or would it be OK to plant it out and then put some contraption in for it to support itself on later? I will be planting it next to a thick wooden fence, will it be able to support itself on this also for the start?

It is Mrs N Thompson variety, around 25cm tall already but has been purchased with a small cane in it and has grown a couple of tendrils wrapping around this.

If anyone has any other ideas of things I can use for it to grow on that would be fab, thank you in advance!!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

• Friendly Friendly x 1
    • Super Lucyjin

Super Lucyjin dinnae fash yersel

Ratings:
      +353