1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Complete Newbie....help/advice needed!

Discussion in 'Greenhouse Growing' started by TubaTeacher, Mar 16, 2020.

1. TubaTeacher

TubaTeacher Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all,
    I have recently obtained my first greenhouse. I have never grown anything! I am planning to grow some lettuce, spring onions, cucumbers and peppers at first.
    How do I start the seeds off? I have googled quite a bit but am unsure do they need to be in the dark to germinate or do I just plant them and let sunlight do it's stuff?
    Also do I keep them indoors first or all of it in the greenhouse.
    I live in Swansea, UK.
    Any help advice would be much appreciated as I am a total novice!!!!

p.s. hope my questions aren't really stupid ones! ;)

2. ricky101

ricky101 Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +4,201
    Hi and Welcome,

All packets of seeds will clearly state if you need to keep them in the dark for germination, though for most fruit and veg thats not needed, more a flower thing I would say.

For things like Cucs, Toms, Peppers etc you really do need some form of heat to start the seed off.
    That could be just a pot or tray with a clear plastic cover on a window cill or one of the heated propogators in the house or greenhouse, if you can get electricity out there ?