1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Complete newbie with wild overgrown lawns - help!

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by Lone Northern Lass, Aug 19, 2014.

1. Lone Northern Lass

Lone Northern Lass Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +6
    Having never previously had any gardening experience or knowledge, this year I bought a house with a front and a back garden. When I viewed the house, the previous owner immediately stated that she was "not a gardener", so the lawns weren't pristine before I got to them. Additionally, the house sale was completed in April and for various reasons I didn't move in until July, by which time the lawns had become rather wildly overgrown. Money is tight. For now my priority is just to tidy both gardens up a bit so they don't look such an eyesore in the estate (my neighbours on both sides have beautifully manicured lawns). Can I just take a lawnmower to both lawns repeatedly to try to tame them? If not, what do I do with them? If so, what should I be looking to spend in order to get a decent lawnmower which is up to taming the gardens and then maintaining the lawns? (Or would it be worth paying for a one-off garden tidy-up service before buying a fairly inexpensive lawnmower to trim the lawns?)

Many thanks in advance for any help you can offer :)

Lone Northern Lass

Here are some shots of the back garden:

[​IMG]
    [​IMG] [​IMG]