1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Desperately in of need help choosing plants for garden border

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by DannyB, Apr 26, 2016.

1. DannyB

DannyB Gardener

Ratings:
    +42
    Hi fellow gardeners!

I am new to all that is gardening and for the last 2 weeks i have been researching over and over what to put in my new garden border that i am creating and it is driving me insane! :frown: I can't seem to find what plants would be best, everything is so over whelming and i don't know where to begin. I really hope someone here can help me :please:

Let me start with what my border will look like (i will attach a photo i have if i can as well) It will be running along my side fence at a length of 6meters and a depth of 60cm (i cant go much deeper than this as the Mrs wants to keep as much grass as possible) it will be in 75% of the days sunshine and the soil is pretty normal in the sense its not rock hard and breaks up easily when dug. I would like to make it so there is interest all year round, even during the winter months and have some nice colour for the summer months.

I have attached two pictures, the string line indicates where the border is going to be, i have recently installed the decking and i did want to put all the slate chippings you see near the decking in the border as well but i'm unsure if it will blend in with the flowers and maybe bark will look better.