1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Flowers for in pots at July wedding

Discussion in 'Container Gardening' started by SWales, Mar 11, 2019.

1. SWales

SWales Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

This is my first time posting here and I'm hoping for some advice from more experienced gardeners than myself!

I am getting married next July (3rd, so early July) and would like to grow the flowers for my wedding. However, rather than growing flowers for cutting I would like to grow the flowers in small pots (I guess pots that are around 20cm tall?) and then have these as the centrepieces. It's a village hall wedding so a rustic appearance won't be a problem! One of the reasons for pots rather than cutting flowers is that I'll be growing them at my home in Oxfordshire but the wedding itself will be taking place near my parent's house in Yorkshire so they'll need to be able to withstand a bit of a journey.

So my question is, what flowers can I grow from seed or bulb that will flower reliably through summer so that I don't have to worry about them not being in flower on the day itself? So far I've thought of Mexican Fleabane and violas for the table pots, but any other ideas would be gratefully received.

Also any thoughts on plants I can grow in big pots (50cm+) for by the front door that have impact but again, will be flowering reliably in early July (or at least structurally interesting)?