1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Free BBC Countryfile 'Grow Wild' seeds, a good idea?

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by Barders, Apr 27, 2015.

1. Barders

Barders Gardener

Ratings:
    +153
    Hi,

I am REALLY new to gardening and have let my little garden get into a bit of a mess. So this year I want to make it into a lovely environment to not only enjoy but also for insects, butterflies and bees.

To that end when I saw I could get free wild flower seeds I thought what a wonderful idea (money is very tight as well so that was another reason!). They arrived today and I was reading the packet and it said not to be 'used in or near natural areas' which I thought was a bit odd?

I did a little digging (pardon the pun :snork:) and all I could find was someone saying that buttercups (one of 12 different types of seeds in the packet) spread like wildfire. The last thing I need is for my newly tided and lovely nature garden to be over run with buttercups (and I don't my lovely neighbours would be too impressed either!). So I am now reluctant to sow them, can anyone expand on this please and if it is a real problem, particularly for a newbie please:help:

Many thanks in advance, Lynne.

2. wiseowl

wiseowl FRIENDLY ADMIN Staff Member

Philosophy of people
    Ratings:
    +89,901