1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Help needed please

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by Kelc, Feb 7, 2022.

1. Kelc

Kelc Gardener

Ratings:
    +208
    Hey
    I need help with my small garden please. This is my project this year. As a newbie I'm looking for lots of ideas on what to do.
    As you can see by the lawn it's bald in places and looking very sorry for itself.
    Some thoughts I had was maybe doing a border around edge for plants/flowers? Or more of a container garden?
    Im going to paint the fencing but don't want brown/green, something more light grey/blue? Not sure
    As for the grass itself I have no idea what to do. (I have dogs) 20220207_094444.jpg Screenshot_20220207-094710_Gallery.jpg

Also the other picture is whats left of my plants from last summer, they were just bought from the supermarket and reported but I wasn't sure if I'm meant to just bin them and start from fresh or if anything will grow back from them? They are petunias, cosmos etc

Any ideas/inspiration really appreciated

2. shiney

shiney President, Grumpy Old Men's Club Staff Member

Retired - Last Century!!!
    Ratings:
    +118,512
    Initial thought:-
    Light blue fencing is supposed to help make a garden look bigger but I have no first hand experience about that.

If you have dogs then I don' know whether it is worth trying to improve the lawn at this stage.