Help required with trellis bushes/plants

Discussion in 'Identification Area' started by shaz365, Jul 7, 2009.

1. shaz365

shaz365 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all

I am completely new to gardening and havent been able to make much progress in finding a solution to my need..

I have a small garden with trellis at the top of all the fences. For more privacy and security from the field behind I would like some heavy green plants/bushes to be intertwined or locked onto the trellis all around.

I don't want to buy seeds that I plant and wait for years to achieve the results I want. I want to purchase the above and get it all going. The fence edges do not have any soil ...

Thanking you in advance

2. JWK

JWK Gardener Staff Member

Ratings:
    +46,411
    Hello & welcome shaz.

I think you need some climbing evergreens to provide year round privacy. When you say "The fence edges do not have any soil ..." do you mean its concrete/paving or something? If so you are going to need containers to grow these plants in unless you can make some planting holes.

Where are you and what aspect is the fence (south facing sunny or shady, windy etc)?

3. shaz365

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

Thanks for the reply

I am in west london suburbs - middlesex.

There isnt much sun coming to the fence - I think the garden is south facing, a tree in the field behind overshadows the garden.

I want to get ones that are already grown - where could I get these?

Yes it is concrete, but getting containers is no problem. I just dont want to wait years to see them grow, I want to buy them from somewhere - not sure if possible and where?

thanks!

4. Sussexgardener

Sussexgardener Gardener

Ratings:
    +41