1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Hi! I'm new and keen to learn! Shady area help

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by keen-to-learn, Jul 1, 2013.

1. keen-to-learn

keen-to-learn Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

I'm completely new to gardening but I'm really enjoying myself so far! I'm just after some friendly help and advice.

I only have a small garden, I live in a forecourted terraced house in Yorkshire and it's mostly grim up north. My front garden is just off South facing and (obviously) the back is just off North but still gets plenty of sun during the height of the day. I only have pots and planters, nothing in the ground as the ground here is hard clay.

I've attached some photos of the garden, how it was before I started and how it's looking now. I'm growing honeysuckles and jasmine up the trellises at the back in the sunny area, and some other sun loving plants, my problem area is the dark area down the side of the house that doesn't get any sun. The area is now cleared of all the crap in the photo and I need ideas of what I can grow there that will do well I've got an Astilbe (i think) which is doing well, but is there anything colourful I could grow there?

I appreciate any help! photo(2).JPG

Attached Files:

2. clueless1

clueless1 member... yep, that's what I am:)

Ratings:
    +19,596
    Hello and welcome:)