1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

lawn conundrum

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by simon_the _shrub, Nov 14, 2011.

1. simon_the _shrub

simon_the _shrub Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

complete novice here -Just joined this forum, just moved house and just looking at the garden. Its half an acre of lawn and looks like it could do with a mow - weather's been so mild (even for Cumbria!)- should i bother mowing or just leave it until spring?...it just always seems so wet from dew etc...:what:

2. Jack McHammocklashing

Jack McHammocklashing Sludgemariner

Ex Civil Serpent
    Ratings:
    +7,297
    A pro will be along shortly, I am a novice just started
    My gut feeling would be how high the lawn was

If over 2" under 3" then cut as soon as you have a dry day, and leave the cuttings as mulch
    Over 3" cut to 2" and bag to compost

As I say I am new too, but that is my thoughts just to give you an answer

Welcome to GC by the way, they help you lots on here
    From a kid with a cactus in a pot to Lord Snowdon and his patch :-)

We even keep MONTY DON straight (in the gardening sence of the word)

Jack McHammocklashing

• Like Like x 1
    • shiney

shiney President, Grumpy Old Men's Club Staff Member

Retired - Last Century!!!
      Ratings:
      +118,508
      Welcome to GC :dbgrtmb: