1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Mint yellowing

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by onyx, Jun 28, 2021.

Tags:
  1. onyx

onyx Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I've been growing mint for a few years and it's always the same story. It starts very well until summer when it begins to turn yellow/brown.

This is the current situation and eventually there will be no green leaves.

I recently fought with an army of aphids which spread on most of the plants. Repeated use of neem oil and horticultural soap eliminated almost all of them.

The location is in full sun and I tried both keeping the area well watered or rarely watering without seeing any difference.

The only place where I could try relocating some would almost never get direct sun.

Any ideas what could go wrong? I've seen similar situation with the mint from neighbours where they planted other varieties in identical conditions.

Attached Files:

2. Black Dog

Black Dog Gardener of useful things

It's a secret
    Ratings:
    +1,136
    Had one just like that. They started yellowing at the base but retained their green tips. I always assumed it was an evolutionary trait to send all those nutrients to the plants top where the sun shines brightly at the cost of the lower leaves which wouldn't get a lot of sun anyway.

Now I have a different mint type and it grows lovely.

3. pete

pete Growing a bit of this and a bit of that....

Retired