1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

my lawn is dying..... pleas help!!!

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by seun akinsola, Apr 16, 2020.

1. seun akinsola

seun akinsola Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +3
    Hi everyone, i am new to gardening and trying to revive my lawn. i had new lawn laid in September.

before.jpg

looked lovely and lush, now it looks tired and dead

after.jpg

i watered it and mowed it but it didnt really survive the winter too well. now i am thinking of overseeding and topdressing and i need some advice. my soil i very clay based and i did not think the people that did the lawn in september added enough top soil before laying the grass, what i want to know is do i seed and then cover with compost, i have read that compost and grit or sharp sand would help being clay soil is this correct? do i just pour the seed on the ground and then pour the compost over it, does it matter the condition of the existing grass. what i have done so far is

1. mowed it to the current height seen in the picture

2. scarified it to remove the thatch and moss (my research said the scarifier would also aerate the soil, but my ground is so hard it didnt even get into it much) so i might now need get one of those aerating shoes

now i want to overseed. can anyone advice on how i might be able to get the lawn back to looking good.

2. Liz the pot

Liz the pot Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +1,259