Newly planted magnolia tree is dying.

Discussion in 'Trees' started by Trewsie, Jun 12, 2010.

1. Trewsie

Trewsie Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I hope someone here can help me. I planted a lovely magnolia tree in my garden 6 weeks ago and I am sure it is dying. I don't know what to do. The flowers all withered and fell off and no leaves have appeared. I have only recently moved in to my new home and am trying to get the garden into shape, but I am fairly new to gardening. Please help. Thanks. I have planted several other trees and many plants and they are all thriving, so I'm unsure about what I've done wrong with the Magnolia tree.

2. Rhyleysgranny

Rhyleysgranny Gardener

Ratings:
    +2
    Snip off the end of one of the branches with secateurs. If it is green inside it is still alive. Was it very pot bound when you got it? That is were the roots all wrapped round and round and little compost? How did you plant it? have you been watering it?
    Sorry need to know questions :)

3. Trewsie

Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you very much for your prompt reply. No, it wasn't very pot bound when I first got it. I have planted it underneath some decorative stone at the bottom of my garden in a sunny place, not obscured by any other trees. Is it a problem that I buried it under the gravel? I dug down deeply and cut a hole in the sheeting? Sorry if this sounds stupid but how often should I be watering it? I will go and snip at it now and report back. Thank you.

4. Trewsie

Ratings:
    +0
    It is white inside, Does that mean it is dead? It was still green two weeks ago; I asked my mother in law to have a look at it and she said it wasn't dead then. Am so disappointed. Just wondering if I have been watering it enough? Is it too late? Thanks

5. Rhyleysgranny

Rhyleysgranny Gardener

Ratings:
    +2