1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Pepper plants mouldy compost

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by Charlie Sinclair, Jun 3, 2021.

1. Charlie Sinclair

Charlie Sinclair Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +3
    Hello, im new to gardening and its my first time trying to grow sweet pepper plants, they have not long started to grow but i am a bit worried that i have white mould growing on my soil does anyone know how to get rid of this?and is it still safe to eat the peppers once they have fully grown? I am growing them indoors in a plastic pot and i am using coconut soil.
    Thank you

2. Janet mahay

Janet mahay Gardener

Ratings:
    +611
    I am not too sure so i looked on the net and its White mold i which s a fungus
    you could simply scrape this mold off the top of your soil, but you will probably want to address the reasons why it is there in the first place. It can be caused by waterlogged soil.so
    reduce the amount of water that you are giving the plant.
    If you feel as though you haven’t been over-watering the plant, then it could mean that the pot or basket does not have sufficient drainage.also fungus like shade so is it in a shady spot? if it is remove to a sunny spot
    I read its not harmful but the mold spores can spread to other plants through the air so you need to adress the problem here a link that might help
    Simpliflygardening.com/soil-have-white-mold

• Like Like x 2