Photinia, little red robin.

Discussion in 'Gardening Discussions' started by Esoxlucius, Feb 24, 2024.

1. Esoxlucius

Esoxlucius Gardener

Ratings:
    +270
    I bought this dwarf variety of photinia last year, planted it out around early summer and it took off pretty quick, it was doing great.

Fast forward through autumn and winter and it started suffering, it was looking very poorly. I thought the only way of saving it was to dig it up, cut it right back and put it indoors and just see what happened to it.

That was a few weeks ago and it has indeed started growing back, see pic below. Now this is a photinia, I would have expected the new shoots to be fire engine red eventually turning to green.

But as you can see the new healthy shoots are green, no shade of red in sight!!! I'm quite new to photinias, I was just wondering what's going on with it? IMG_20240224_100801_HDR.jpg

2. Logan

Logan Total Gardener

housewife
    Ratings:
    +45,845
    The leaves go red in autumn and some varieties loose their leaves in winter, that's all i know about them.

3. Esoxlucius

Esoxlucius Gardener

Ratings:
    +270
    Hmm, not sure about that. I don't think with photinia that you need to wait till autumn to get those red leaves, any new growth seems to be constantly red until it matures. Below is a pic of when I first planted it out last May. As you can see the newest shoots are red. I thought the new spring growth was red, eventually turning to green?

IMG_20230518_162214.jpg

4. ricky101

ricky101 Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +4,247
    Hi,
    Think you may have been a bit too eager as a young plant may well drop its leaves in a cold spell /winter, even fully grown ones loose some of them.

As you have proven its roots must have been good and healthy when outside otherwise it would not be shooting so quickly now.
    Assume you did not find anything wrong / grubs etc with the roots when digging it up ?