Plant (or are they weeds!) identification help

Discussion in 'Identification Area' started by Tracey B, Apr 9, 2006.

1. Tracey B

Tracey B Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I am a newbie to this site and am looking for some help in identifying some plants in my garden. We have only recently moved here and I have gone from a back yard with bedding plants in pots to a much much larger garden with loads of plants and shrubs - and no idea of what they are.

Hopefully here is a link to just some of them:-

http://www.photobox.co.uk/album/2837550

The plant in the first picture is in a pot and reminds me a bit of a yucca plant although it doesnt have the long stump!

The plant in the second photo just seems to spread and is rather yellow in the middle - some of the leaves were slightly red very early in the year.

The plant in the fourth picture seems to be popping up everywhere which made me wonder if this is in fact a weed! the leaves are slightly 'furry' and quite thick. Something is also eating it!

The plant in the 5th picture is also popping up everytwhere but this is quite a lovely fine plant and I'm hoping this is one to keep!

Plant 6 is in a bit of a mess and I'm tempted to just pull it up but if it turns out to be something that will produce something quite pretty I dont mind nursing it!

The last one again is appearing everywhere and though you cant see it in the picture, there are now little blue flowers appearing. This is really low lying and spreading rather quickly - I think this may be a weed?

My final question (on this post anyhow - I think I'm going to pop up quite a bit on here begging for helo!) is about pampass grass (this one I know!) - what do I have to do to it. I have pulled out some of the dead leaves and the bamboo type dead shoots - do I have to trim the ends so they are not lying all over the grass - does it need any special plant food?

Many thanks for any help - sorry to have gone on so long!! :eek:

2. Lady Gardener