Planted a Salix Viminalis windbreak. Bad decision?

Discussion in 'Trees' started by Daalamist, May 1, 2024.

1. Daalamist

Daalamist Gardener

Ratings:
    +9
    I'll start of by saying that I'm a beginner gardener and don't know much yet. But one of the things that is confusing me most is the whole 'trees that can be used as hedges' thing.

Last year I pushed some small Salix Viminalis cuttings into the ground along a 35ft fence to act as a fast growing windbreak. But I'm starting to think I should have chosen something that stays naturally small in size when left undisturbed, and that does not turn into a fast growing tree if left to its own devices.

So is this how it works? ...If I keep trimming them every year to keep them small, the roots will also stay relatively small? And if I let it them grow freely for too long they will basically turn into massive trees with huge roots systems that could damage my house? (closest area of fence is about 10 ft from the house).

I hope these aren't stupid questions but I find it all quite stressy because once a tree is in the ground and established, you cant exactly pull it up easily!

Should I have chosen something like Bushy Honeysuckle or Blackthorn instead?

Thanks

2. Clueless 1 v2

Clueless 1 v2 Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +2,766
    I'll start by suggesting NOT to plant blackthorn in your garden. It's a lovely tree and all. Your neighbours might be puzzled when it pops up in their lawn at random. They'll be even more puzzled when they go to pull out the 'sapling' only to discover it already has a well established root system with an inch thick runner leading from it directly to your tree.