1. A very warm welcome to our new members from GW forums!
    Please see post #99 in the thread below for important information to help your friends wishing to join
    Gardeners World forum members gathering place
    Dismiss Notice

Polytunnel watering system

Discussion in 'Poly-Tunnel Gardening' started by Plosh, Jun 9, 2018.

1. Plosh

Plosh Apprentice Gardener

Livestock farmer
    Ratings:
    +18
    Hi, new member here. This is my first question.
    I have a 30' x 14' tunnel and it is in its third season so I am still learning. The tunnel is behind a sheep shed so the water supply is from the 1200 sq ft shed roof which is collected in an IBC and I have a pipe and tap from that. There is no possibility of an electricity supply to the tunnel. In my first season I installed a leaky hose watering system from 2 barrels inside the end of the tunnel which are up on 18" blocks. I used battery operated timers - the only timers that I could find to work on low pressure. It worked swimmingly for a few days then I wasn't sure about the timing so I kept upping the watering times. Eventually I forgot the timers and just left it run for the day but the water in the barrels was going down so slowly it can hardly have been working and I could tell that the hose hadn't been wet so I gave up using it.
    At the end of the season I opened the stops on the ends of the hose and the barrel taps to empty the remaining water from the barrels and hey presto, immediately the leaky hose started leaking like a good'n all the way along its length! I took the hose up for the winter and just haven't had the incentive to put it all back down and try again.

My only thought so far was that once the hose got wet the holes got clogged by particles in the water and prevented the hose from working but that after I had stopped using it and it had dried out thoroughly the holes returned. I have no idea. Does anyone have any experience of leaky hose or any other watering system?