1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Sweet Cherry Tree (Van) - Pruning advice

Discussion in 'Trees' started by ijolly4, Apr 11, 2020.

1. ijolly4

ijolly4 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    I have a cherry tree that is around 3 years old. It is about 7ft tall - I purchased and planted it at around 5ft tall. I am new to gardening and know next to nothing so any help is appreciated:) My problem is that all three of the branches growing from the main trunk are pretty much horizontal - I have enclosed photos. Ideally I would like them to grow upwards and increase the height of the tree as I want to use it as a screen above the 6ft fence panel. I'm hoping there is a way to either train or prune the branches to achieve this. If it's not possible at least I can pick the cherries without a ladder:)
    Thanks for any help
    Iain Cherry Tree4.JPG

Attached Files:

2. misterQ

misterQ Super Gardener

Ratings:
    +1,782
    Do you know what rootstock it is grafted onto? If it is dwarfing rootstock and low vigor then it may never reach a significant height or take a very long time to do so.