1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

The age old question

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by Blade, Apr 13, 2012.

1. Blade

Blade Gardener

plasterer
    Ratings:
    +4
    how can i get my lawn looking good . Had a new lawn laid 2 years ago , 10 ton of top soil levelled and turfed , lovely ! but now its gone a bit patchy , ive tried seeding the patchy bits but nothing happens ? as a complete novice what would you recomend , i have kept it cut and weed and fed it but i have 2 dogs which dont help . Its by no means awful just not great

Blade

2. ARMANDII

ARMANDII Low Flying Administrator Staff Member

Ratings:
    +100,836
    I would thought have that some of our more knowledgeable lawn experts would have been here earlier, Blade.:scratch: It sound like you've been doing all the right things.:scratch: I've found that when reseeding grass it helps if you dress the seed on top with a light covering of compost rather just raking it in lightly. Works for me:biggrin: Is the lawn patchy because of use?

3. Axl

Axl Gardener

Ratings:
    +446
    Blade, Can you put up a photo of the lawn and a close up of the patches?

If your dogs urinate on the lawn then they're the likely culprits but there are so many other causes of patches in lawns it's best to try to rule them out first.

4. *dim*

*dim* Head Gardener

Ratings:
    +1,593
    I'd first green it up