Tomato potting on

Discussion in 'Greenhouse Growing' started by Kennyhicks, Apr 20, 2020.

1. Kennyhicks

Kennyhicks Gardener

Management
    Ratings:
    +23
    Hi guys. Its my first year growing tomatoes. Do these need bigger pots yet?

Do i need to do antthing when i do this?

Thanks

Attached Files:

2. ricky101

ricky101 Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +4,212
    Think the back two might be just ready to move up one size, into say those back outer pots, as they are still quiet small plants.

Don't forget there is the Tomato 2020 thread for all such questions and tips etc.
    TOMATO GROWING THREAD 2020

• Like Like x 2
    • Aldo

Aldo Super Gardener

Ratings:
      +1,318

They seem to be ready to move to larger pots, before the roots start circling.
      A few of mine were that size 3 weeks ago, I moved them to 20cm pots and now they are 2 feet tall, I can see little flowers developing, so ready for the garden :)
      I am sure more experienced gardeners will be able to give more advice about repotting, I can only suggest to be gentle and take your time, so not to damage the roots, of course.

• Like Like x 1
      • Kristen

Kristen Under gardener

Ratings:
        +12,667
        In case helpful here's what I do when potting on

I only use same-brand-and-size pots for everything, 'coz I have loads to do and it streamlines the process, but folk might be using Yogurt tubs and other cartons as pots all of different sizes. Principle is the same.

I put a little compost in the bottom of the new bigger pot, then place an empty pot (same size as the plant is in) on top and check that the level is about the same for the two pots, if anything the inner pot should be a bit lower and not higher. If your pots are not uniform then stand the existing plant, in its pot, in there instead. The reason I don;t do that is all that handling of the plant, whilst filling the new pot, leads to damage and accidents and, in my case, takes longer on the 1,000's I do each year ...