Track marks on the lawn

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by Nicholas Burman, Feb 22, 2019.

1. Nicholas Burman

Nicholas Burman Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +4
    Hello,

A few days ago I had the builders in to help lay a garden path. However after they left I was "gifted" with a nice pair of track marks that their excavator left behind, plus the damage to the grass... so, how do I repair them?

Cheers Nicholas
    Spilimbergo, Italy

2. Linz

Linz Total Gardener

Prosperous Peasant
    Ratings:
    +6,224
    I'm no lawn expert but it depends how deep/wide and long they are only then can you be suggested ways to repair. Pictures would help :smile:

• Agree Agree x 1
    • Mike Allen

Mike Allen Total Gardener

Retired. Plant Pathologist.
      Ratings:
      +6,097
      Surely the builders are insured in which case complain and make them do the repairs.

Alternatively. Much depending upon the 'tracks'. Cut and lift the affected turf and place to one side. Now infill the the damaged area, firming the soil and when done, replace the turves. Gently firm the tures and finish by top-dressing the area. Leave for at least a week, gently rake the area prior to mowing.

• Liz the pot

Liz the pot Total Gardener

Ratings:
      +1,259
      post a picture if possible please.
      It may just need dressing depending on the depth or weight of the machine used or its a case of removing turf and then adding top soil and seeding with a grass type that matches your grass.
      All depends on the amount of damage.

• Nicholas Burman

Ratings:
      +4
      Thank you very much for the reply. Please find a photo of the disaster. Any suggestions will be appreciated. I tried raking the tracks using a scarifying rake but to no avail - the soil (in part due to its composition) is as hard as a brick.

20190225_162644[1].jpg

• Like Like x 1
      • Nicholas Burman

Ratings:
        +4
        Once more, thank you for posting. I have added a picture to my previous message.