1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Transplant shock or has my rose been poisoned?

Discussion in 'Roses' started by AliceJ2019, Jul 13, 2019.

1. AliceJ2019

AliceJ2019 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +3
    Hello! I am very new to gardening, and thought I would try a patio rose. At the time of buying, it looked extremely healthy, however, only 2 days after re-potting it, extreme wilting has occurred and the poor thing looks as if it is on its last legs. After finding out about and researching transplant shock, I thought this may be the only reasonable explanation since the rose is so new (I had sadly never heard of transplant shock before this incident due to being a gardening novice!), but this looks so much worse than the pictures of transplant shock I found online, plus the rose seems to have wilted from the top downwards as yesterday only the top half of the plant had suddenly wilted, but now the whole plant seems to be pretty much dead :-(. One of my neighbours is very malicious, and for some reason was very against the idea of me creating a small garden (my family has a history of problems with him due to his nature) and he owns weed killer, so I have a worry that perhaps he may have attempted to kill the rose? If the attached picture is any help, do you think that this sudden issue may have occurred through transplant shock or exposure to weed killer?

85BDC104-E92C-43A7-81B2-CD89F6569552.jpeg