Transplanting carrots and beets

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by Domscore, Apr 10, 2018.

1. Domscore

Domscore Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +2
    Hi all,

This is my first time ever growing vegetables (or any type of plant if I'm honest) and I believe I've made a mistake already :yahoo:.

So, I was bought a small vegetable kit which included a small propagator and some seeds - carrots, beets and tomatoes. The mistake I've made is planting all of the seeds in the propagator quite close together - shown below - and that I've read that beets and carrots should ideally be planted straight into the ground. My question being whether I'll be able to transplant them into raised bed at this point or is there no hope for them? And if not, should I remove them from the propagator and just leave the tomatoes?

IMG_1031.jpg
    [​IMG]

2. Marley Farley

Marley Farley Affable Admin! Staff Member

Grandmother Gardener Councillor Homemaker
    Ratings:
    +14,124
    Hi @Domscore i have never tried to transplant beets or carrots and sad to say I can’t imagine that they would..
    If you have more seed sow carrots very thinly and beets straight into your raised bed.. You normally get three plants to one beet seed keep the strongest shoot per seed and discard the other 2..
    Carrots sow very thinly and then thin as necessary when growing..

I would leave the toms until you get the second set of leaves then prick out into small pots keep warm and moist until established.. Have fun.. :SUNsmile:

3. Verdun

Verdun Passionate gardener

Ratings:
    +17,486
    Hiya Domscore, warm welcome to the forum. Well, we have all done similar things when first starting. :)

You can transplant carrots and beetroot but.....
    Usually when sown in modules and the round rather than long tapering carrots.
    However, carrots are usually ( and better for it) sown direct in the garden soil. I would discard the carrot seedlings