1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Turning vegetable beds into lawn?

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by Newb1e, Jun 24, 2013.

1. Newb1e

Newb1e Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +3
    Hi guys first time poster here hoping for abit of advice.

I'm a complete amateur when it comes to gardening, not afraid of hard work but not to clued up about how to implement it.

I've just brought my first house and with having a young child I'm trying to turn the vegetable beds and concrete path etc into one lawn.

The soil seems to be good as it was growing spring onions(I think) and other vegetables before.

What I would like to do is to level of the yard using some rubble(bricks) and then topsoil on top. Then either seed it or use turf to make the lawn.

A few questions I would like to know is firstly will it work?

Will a few concrete blocks at the edge of the lawn stop the lawn sinking into the hedges?

There is some small plants still in the soil, do I need to make sure the soil is completely clear of these or will the soil/grass stop these from growing through?

Do I need to mix some sand in with the soil to help with drainage?

And I have cut edges etc so can I use them to put under the soil as they will eventually turn into compost?

Attached Files:

2. clueless1

clueless1 member... yep, that's what I am:)

Ratings:
    +19,596
    Hello and welcome:)