1. A very warm welcome to our new members from GW forums!
    Please see post #99 in the thread below for important information to help your friends wishing to join
    Gardeners World forum members gathering place
    Dismiss Notice

Why can't I grow beetroot?

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by Plosh, Jun 14, 2018.

1. Plosh

Plosh Apprentice Gardener

Livestock farmer
    Ratings:
    +18
    I have been attempting to grow beetroot in my current location for 20 years. I have given it a miss a few times but have probably had about 15 attempts.
    Twice I have had a mammoth crop. The rest of the times nothing.
    I don't have a problem germinating the seed but once germinated they never seem to get past the 2 leaf stage - they will just sit like that for ever more. Occasionally they will progress a bit and I may end up with just a few skinny little roots. I've sown into beds and into modules. I've tried no end of varieties too.
    Does anyone have a secret for beetroot?

2. Verdun

Verdun Passionate gardener

Ratings:
    +17,486
    Just an observation Plosh :)
    Beetroot is a maritime crop, likes being grown near the sea. For that reason, I apply a spray or two of seaweed. This was told to me years ago and it makes sense to me. I grow good beetroot here:)
    Beetroot needs a regular supply of water when growing and for the soil to be friable and stone free.
    I protect beetroot seedlings ...from seed sowing...with fleece. The seedlings can be easily damaged by heavy rain and wind so fleece supported by upturned plants pots protects them. Birds can also damage the brittle sedlings too with their movements.

I thin out ......carefully...when very small. Sowing too early in cold areas too can be a problem :)

• Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • JWK

JWK Gardener Staff Member

Ratings:
      +45,349