1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Advice on Wisteria and foundations

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by TechieInGarden, Oct 17, 2007.

1. TechieInGarden

TechieInGarden Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I am new to gardening so hopefully someone can help. I bought a 4m high wisteria (grafted) to be planted on the front of my house. I have seen these over bay windows and it looks really good. My question is if its safe to plant these near the wall (about 30cm from the wall)? I have read some posts on the internet and some of them say that the westeria will not cause any subsidence or wall damage while others say it could cause damage. The wisteria I bought is not in a big pot and its 4 meters tall so I was hoping that the roots are not going spread too much and cause any problems for the foundation. I found something on the net that said the roots could absorb the moisture and dry the walls causing damage?

I really like this plant but dont want to plant it if its likely to cause any structual damage. I have seen other gradens on my street with them next to the wall!

Thanks in advance for your advice

2. Helofadigger

Helofadigger Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Ilansachi welcome to the forums.