any ideas plse?

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by mike h, Jan 11, 2005.

1. mike h

mike h Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I'm completely new to gardening and am sorry if this is an obvious question!
    I have a north facing garden with a clay soil and have no idea what plants would do well in these conditions, any ideas plse? :confused:

2. pete

pete Growing a bit of this and a bit of that....

Retired
    Ratings:
    +84,312
    What sort of garden do you want?.
    Veg, shrubs, perennials,annuals , flowers or foliage. Probably a mixture of these most people do, but it also depends on how much time you have or are prepared to spend
    pete2255

3. mike h

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Pete,thks for your reply.
    I have a few shrubs and trees in already, i would like to work more on the flower beds and create a nice flowering garden for the spring and summer with some winter colour (probably like most people), spending about 3-4 hrs a week on it.
    Many thks for your help.

4. paul

paul Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    one idea is to look around in your neighbours gardens and see what is growing there.i have quite a lot of clay in my garden and just dig in a lot of multi purpose compost into the planting holesand they seem to do fine.good look and let us know how you get on

5. Webmaster

Webmaster Webmaster Staff Member

Ratings:
    +2,879
    Mike,

Shrubs you could try are Chaenomeles, which I think you'll agree is quite attractive
    [​IMG]

Mahonia Japonica thrives in shady conditions
    [​IMG]

Mock Orange (Philadelphus)

[​IMG]

Spiraea, thrives in full sun or light shade

[​IMG]

Hope this helps for a start.

Nathan.

6. pete

pete Growing a bit of this and a bit of that....

Retired
    Ratings:
    +84,312