1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Apple and Pear tree pests and leaf disease

Discussion in 'Pests, Diseases and Cures' started by seb, Apr 24, 2017.

1. seb

seb Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Hi everyone,

I'm quite new to the gardening although have been doing some work around our small garden in the residential estate for over 5 years now and it starts looking really nice, but I continue having some problems with Apple and Pear trees, which I have planted 2 years ago.

What I've noticed this year on our Apple tree is the tiny red insects - please see attached images.
    Could anyone identify what these are and perhaps give some advice on how to deter them?

I've been using ladybird larves, but for some reason when they turn into adult, they seem to go elsewhere.
    We have lots of aphids on our flowers, roses and other plants - just can't get ladybirds to visit.

Also - our pear tree seem to be getting red spots on the leaves and some white insects - again please see attached images.

Could someone advice on some remedies to these and what these actually are?

Attached Files:

• 01.jpg
      01.jpg
      File size:
      49.9 KB
      Views:
    • 02.jpg
      02.jpg
      File size:
      30.6 KB
      Views:
    • 03.jpg
      03.jpg
      File size:
      40.1 KB
      Views:
    • 04.jpg
      04.jpg
      File size:
      53.5 KB
      Views:
    • 05.jpg
      05.jpg
      File size: