1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Complete beginner: Converting a Pebble Garden into a Lawn.

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by SSC, Apr 11, 2020.

1. SSC

SSC Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all!

After 5 years of minimal garden maintenance with the lockdown period we’ve being doing heavy duty repairs/updates.

The final challenge is to convert the bulk of the garden area filled with stones into a lawn, it’s roughly 6m x 5m. Never embarked on anything like this so trying to gather info and advice before we start.

[​IMG]

My understanding is I need to go through these steps. But any more detail, red herrings to consider or things I’ve missed much appreciated. Also best way to collect, bag and get rid of a lot of stones..!

Basic issues/steps are?:
    - remove all the stones (my poor back)
    - remove and kill weeds
    - treat soil? There’s a lot of weeds and old grass strains that come through annually.
    - turn over soil?
    - do we need to lay more top soil? then treat or flatten out?
    - buy turf (whats the right one to get?)
    - lay it... guess we'll figure that out!
    - when’s the best time to lay turf? Can we do it in the next few weeks and have a lawn for summer?

Any tips welcome. Start of a long and exciting journey!

2. Upsydaisy

Upsydaisy Total Gardener

Living in hope of world wide peace.
    Ratings:
    +54,374
  3. Kristen

Kristen Under gardener