1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Complete Beginner. Spiders. Dead Grass. Crawling Plants. Oh My

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Greggo777, Apr 1, 2012.

1. Greggo777

Greggo777 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, Moved into newbuild ground floor flat 2 yrs ago. Paid for garden to be turfed last year. Have loads of questions, but will limit to a few...

Base of the building has rubble in place of a flowerbed which I'm told is to stop damp. As I can't use soil there then I'd like to place a few pots on top and grow flowers/veg. However, among the stones there are tons of spiders. Is this normal and would you advise I get rid of them somehow before placing tomato plants, for example?

Plan to treat the fence with a preserver this Easter (would a roller be better than a brush?), pin up some type of mesh and place pots against the fence in corners of the garden. Hopefully I can then plant some kind of plant that will eventually climb the trellis and offer some kind of privacy in the garden. What plant(s) would you recommend?