Garden drainage

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by NurseJayne, May 22, 2024.

1. NurseJayne

NurseJayne Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Hi this is my first time posting but I have got lots of tips and tricks from reading posts from you friendly people.

I have recently moved into a new build home with my son (18 months ago) and our garden is a nightmare when it rains (as it does constantly) as it puddles up and one end of the garden ends up like a mud pit for weeks.
    We have been digging holes for a project and realized it has a lot of clay after about 20cm of soil!

I have been reading about French drains etc but don't know where to start as this is where it gets very strange. Our garden has a slight slope (can't really notice it) from the bottom going down towards the house and the part that gets the most muddy and waterlogged is the bottom of the garden (the highest point) the lowest point seems to drain ok. So it says build a French drain at the lowest point to run the water off but that's not where the water is.

Anyone ever dealt with this or know what I can do?

Thanks.
    (P.s I'm a single mum so can't afford to pay out much as I have very little spare money so looking to do as much as I can)

2. CarolineL

CarolineL Total Gardener

Retired Software engineer
    Ratings:
    +4,570
    Hi @NurseJayne and welcome to the forum! Yes, you can have water that fails to run downhill! When there's a lot of clay, the water can't penetrate it, so it sits...
    The problem with new builds is that the top soil has probably been pulled away and then heavy vehicles like excavators have been busy compressing the subsoil. They than add a scattering of top soil and that's it!
    If you can improve the soil structure by deep digging and dumping organic matter you should be able to make a difference. I have found french drains don't really work unless the water can move sideways into them - which means breaking up the clay.