1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Golden showers about to be planted.. any tips..?

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by paterson00, Aug 2, 2009.

1. paterson00

paterson00 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I have recently ordered 3 Golden shower roses which as you all probably know is a climbing rose. I am very new to gardening and am hoping to train the three roses horizontally along my fence about 3 feet apart. I am told that training them horizontally produces the most flowers. I have not yet received them and am told that they will arrive around oct - nov time.

My question is basically do you guys have any tips for success? These are the first roses i have planted and they will be planted straight into my lawn. How far apart should i plant them and, since i have time, is there anything that i can do to the soil to prepare it for their arrival?

I want these to be a great success as they will make a fantastic feature in my garden up against the blue fence they will be climbing. I have to apply the trellis to this and have read that it should be about 5cm off the fence to allow room to grow and very sturdy so the plant does not damage the trellis and pull it down.

Any more tips?

The newbie

2. plant1star

plant1star Gardener

Ratings:
    +1