1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Help needed - Total novice!

Discussion in 'Garden Projects and DIY' started by lee&jodie, Apr 24, 2015.

1. lee&jodie

lee&jodie Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Hi all,

I came on here a few years ago after ideas about what to do with a garden. But we've since moved house, and again the garden was a mess and again i need ideas of what to do.

We initially came into this:

IMG_2594.JPG IMG_2595.JPG IMG_2596.JPG

Last year we did some tidying up, painted all the fences, sorted and painted the shed, fixed the flooding issue, cleaned the patio and the long and painful task of digging out all the weeds/over grown stuff and through down some bark to try and make it look nicer.

Now this year ideally we want to get it sorted so we can finally have a bbq in the garden under the sun!

Tackling one bit at a time so starting with the 'left border' I now have it as below (managed to dig out a stump/roots out today, there's still some roots left as you can see and i'll get round to them.

IMG_3103.JPG IMG_3104.JPG

My question is, the pieces of wood that should be making the 'wall' as such that are missing the middle/rotten - What are they called and where can i get some new ones? Take it if i dig some of the soil out from behind they'll lift out?