1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Help with our privit hedge please

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Novice22, Nov 10, 2020.

1. Novice22

Novice22 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +4
    Thankyou for the warm welcome. I'm a novice but spent a lot of time in the garden during furlough. We live in the country, fields all around. We've got a problem with our privit hedge it's been there for just over 50yrs, north facing, clay soil, the leaves are turning yellow then black. Because of all the weeds we get through the hedge I decided to put membrane down but wrapped it around the base of the hedge as well as about a foot either side then put gravel on top which isn't very deep. Normally we cut the hedge right down but this year we've left it to encourage the birds which it's definitely done. I'm wondering if I'm rotting the roots with putting membrane down or is it because we've not cut the hedge so draining more life out of ot, any advice would be grateful received because its about 30m long and the same all across it. I've planted some cuttings I took to fill in the gaps about Sept which aren't looking very well either. 20201110_120006.jpg 20201110_115916.jpg 20201110_115947.jpg 20201110_115931.jpg Thanks again H

• Friendly Friendly x 1
    • Sheal

Sheal Total Gardener

Ratings:
      +52,563