How to cut very tough creeper on ground + brushcutter advice

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by balthazar, May 22, 2024.

1. balthazar

balthazar Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I am a novice wanting advice on a woody stemmed plant covering a large expanse of ground in my garden in the southern Med. It might be ivy as there are ivy leaves climbing up two surrounding hedges but the very dense stuff on the ground is woody and tough, up to 30cm deep in places and c. 25 sqm area.

I am not there myself but am told that the normally efficient strimmer used to control most of the garden isn't cutting it (literally); they are managing to cut through it manually with pruners but it's very labour intensive. The also tried hedgetrimmer, but not strong enough.

They have suggested that I get a brushcutter for some other thicker growth in the garden but say that it could not be used for this ground growth as it would damage the machine.
    Any ideas on how this could be tackled in a less labour-intensive way (I don't want any petrol or corded machines and am not planning any planting here? We also have a reciprocating saw, no idea if that would help or it too might get damaged.

I did find this on an RHS page about ivy (which they say has some benefits and isn't the demon it's often portrayed as even on trees): "Dig up all stems and woody roots. This may be difficult on heavy soils or where vegetation is very dense."
    But when they say 'dig up', I'm not entirely sure how the mean...

Also, any recommendations for a quite powerful cordless brushcutter; I need to get it on Amazon but a search for brushcutters mostly brings up strimmers and I'm still not entirely clear about the difference.
    Many thanks

2. DiggersJo

DiggersJo Gardener

Ratings:
    +1,086