1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Inexpensive ground cover for steep bank

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Welshmike, Apr 21, 2012.

1. Welshmike

Welshmike Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I'm an absolute newbie to this forum and have very little gardening experience.
    The back garden of my house has a steep bare bank that has had an overgrown Laurel hedge cut down to its stumps and two old apple trees at the bottom. The bank is 16 metres long, the slope is 3 metres long. It faces North West and I'm uploading a photo taken at just after 7:30pm tonight.
    Please will the team suggest what inexpensive ground cover plant or plants I should buy to provide ground cover for the bank and any planting advice they think appropriate.
    Many thanks in advance.
    Mike
    bank.jpg

2. HarryS

HarryS Eternally Optimistic Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +16,246
    Hi Mike - just tagging this thread as I have the same problem for the mother in laws garden . I am sure there will be some excellent suggestions over the next few days from the GC members :blue thumb:

3. Welshmike

Welshmike Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Harry. I do hope we get some suggestions. If I select Vinca Minor for ground cover my novice estimate is that I will need some 50 plants at from £5 each. Ouch!

4. Naylors Ark

Naylors Ark Struggling to tame her French acres.

Ratings:
    +1,019