1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Please help! total novice and need help!

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by scott0687, Apr 23, 2009.

1. scott0687

scott0687 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,
    Just a bit of background, Im 22 and just got my first house about a year ago, which is obviously great but the only problem is the garden is a wreck from the previous owner but I really have no idea what Im doing!
    The lawn is more like just a big slate of mud with the off patch of grass here and there, so in my non educated wisdom I thought all I'd have to do is turn over the mud a bit and plant grass seed, obviously not!
    Not a thing has changed, this may sound like a stupid question to some but what am I doing wrong? what do I need to put down? or do first?
    I clearly dont have a clue what Im doing when it comes to gardening but I really want to get it sorted, not just so I can feel proud of my garden but so my 2 year old girl can play out on the grass instead of the mud!
    Any help is appreciated
    Thanks

2. Kristen

Kristen Under gardener

Ratings:
    +12,667
    If its a new-build you may have to get all the half-bricks and other crud out of the soil first :(