RHS online shop

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by SusieD, Apr 22, 2023.

1. SusieD

SusieD Gardener

Ratings:
    +65
    Hi everyone, it's been a little while but I'm back again looking for advice! I'm looking to buy some new plants and as I don't drive and can't really find anything round here that I particularly like, I was contemplating buying some plants online from the RHS shop. I've never bought plants online before and was wondering if anyone else had used them, and what the quality of the plants are like. Also is it worth getting the 9cm plants or should I be looking at bigger ones?

I need some bedding type plants, but to go in the little pots that you can hook over fences, you know the colourful metal pots. I also wanted some shrubs that I can plant in bigger container pots - the ones I have are 50cm and 40cm diameter. I did have some that I'd planted but I'm not very good at gardening and I think a combination of the very hot summer last year followed by the colder winter did them in. I like azaleas but the only ones I can find round here are the dark pink/red ones.

Thanks in advance :)

2. ricky101

ricky101 Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +4,247
    Have not used the RHS for plants, but as with any online supplier it can be a bit of a gamble from whoever you buy as many actually use sub suppliers.

Bigger plants usually cost more and will be delivered later, but smaller plants will possibly need potting on and more shelter before planting out; do you have a greenhouse?

We swore we would never use one well know supplier after two orders of poor quality plants a few years ago, but they had a particular plant offer we liked last month, so took a gamble, they arrived next day and were perfect plants !

The thing is, whoever you order from, take a photo of the plants once unpacked and if any problems with them send them an email with the photo and ask for replacements or your money back, usually they will be happy to comply.