1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Robustness of strimmer cord and Flymo mower blades

Discussion in 'Tools And Equipment' started by green-arrow, Jul 26, 2013.

1. green-arrow

green-arrow Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I'm just starting out with my own gardening tools and have noticed the strimmer cord almost always gets shortened fairly quickly. Is this just a symptom of my strimming style or that I'm hitting concrete/brick while strimming the edges? I have a Black & Decker GL546, I am not sure if the strimmer cord is genuine Black & Decker brand if that makes a difference.

Next up is my mower which is a Flymo Microlite (hover style) M28. It came with genuine Flymo blades of which one broke causing it to make a horrendous unbalanced sound. I bought a 6 pack of third-party compatible blades but I have lost 4 of those in 2 mowing sessions. Is it that all third-party spares are weak or just my mowing style being too low/hitting stones etc? I bought a pack of genuine Flymo blades and on a side-by-side comparison they seem to have more flex in them compared to the more rigid third-party blades. Maybe this "stiffness" is the cause of them breaking so easily?

Anyway just wanted to see if others have the same experience. Do you all tend to go for the branded spares for your tools?

2. pamsdish

pamsdish Total Gardener

Retired
    "Black Country Wench" in Margam,Port Talbot,Wales
    Ratings:
    +4,445