1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

What easy to grow flower seeds can be planted now (indoors?)

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by TheMadHedger, Apr 17, 2016.

1. TheMadHedger

TheMadHedger Gardener

Ratings:
    +226
    As I'm new to growing plants from seed my only successes so far are Sweet Peas (very easy, quick to germinate). So far no luck with Petunias or Polyanthus (I know they can take a few weeks to germinate and can be a pain, plus I only planted them about 10 days ago) and my Nasturtiums were only planted 4 days ago so, understandably, no germination as of yet.

What flower seeds are easy to grow and can be planted now (indoors for later transplanting outdoors?), germinate relatively fast and produce nice blooms through at least the summer?

Thanks

2. BeeHappy

BeeHappy Total Gardener

Mother Nature's Garden Apprentice
    Ratings:
    +6,133
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • JWK

JWK Gardener Staff Member

Ratings:
      +46,173
      As well as Cosmos, other easy ones I've sown this spring are : Larkspur, Cornflower, Morning Glory, Nigella, Night Scented Stocks, Rudbeckia, Tagetes and Zinnia. All mine took 6 to 7 days to germinate indoors, then i moved them out to the greenhouse to stop them getting leggy.

• Like Like x 2
      • Agree Agree x 2
      • Informative Informative x 2
      • TheMadHedger