1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

What is eating my plant and how do I treat it?

Discussion in 'Pests, Diseases and Cures' started by seanflan02, Aug 22, 2021.

1. seanflan02

seanflan02 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Hello all!

I'm really hoping you can provide some advice on an issue I am having with a plant in our courtyard.

(Full disclosure. I have no gardening experience and after scouring the internet without luck, I have joined the forum to hopefully get some direction on the matter).

A particular plant in our rented courtyard (I must apologise here as I do not know the plant name) is clearly being eaten by something. Clean holes, always starting from the edge, are being taken out of the youngest leaves. See a snapshot below of the young red leaves, with the darker ones unaffected behind. Plant 2.jpg

After doing some research on google, the most obvious suggestion in my view was the "leaf cutter bee". However, based on the amount of leaves affected in such a small courtyard with very little bees in circulation, I'm led to think that this insect may not be the root cause. I work next to the plant all week and have never noticed bees in the vicinity. I will continue to look however.