your thoughts: secateurs

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by ja6er, Aug 31, 2010.

1. ja6er

ja6er Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hello Everybody

I'm new to the forum...so please be gentle...
    i have posted this in the tools section, but as this page seems more lively..im asking here too.

I am studying design with the Open University, and for my final piece, I have decided to investigate and design an assisted/electronic pair of secateurs.

I am currently doing some user research into secateurs, and would like your suggestions, thoughts, and any issues you have with current designs of secateurs.
    I have had a quick look through the forum, and see that some of you find it hard to use them, especially with arthritis and other injuries...what would make it much easier for you to use these tools?

also, what would you consider appealing? I see Bosch have come up with a new pair of electronic secateurs. the Ciso. have you seen these? and what are your thoughts on these?

what would you be prepared to pay for a pair of secateurs that do the job well, and make life much easier for you?

any comments, thoughts and suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!

sorry mods if me posting this here is a problem... merge or move if you think it needs doing...

thanks

James.
    [​IMG]

2. Shobhna

Shobhna Gardener

Ratings:
    +8
    My suggesstion would be that they be power-assisted somehow so I can prune away happily and that I will still be able to pick up things the next day without dropping them because normal secatures totally finish of the achy bones in my thumbs and fingers and wrist.

3. Loofah

Loofah Admin Staff Member

Ratings:
    +22,015
    Hardly secateurs if they're electronic? Anyhoo, maybe base the electronics on a scaled down version of a car power assisted steering circuit and use servo motors to drive the cutting blades? I guess put the gizmo at the end of a short stick with a power button to make it work.